This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

[PRE-ORDER] Seamus Heaney and John Montague
The Northern Muse - Remaster


LP Vinyl


Claddagh Records


Spoken Word


Coming Soon to Claddagh Records, John Montague and Seamus Heaney’s ‘The Northern Muse’ remastered and released on vinyl for the first time since 1968.

Claddagh Records are delighted to re-release one of the most celebrated poetry albums of all- time back onto Vinyl.

A must-have for any fan of Irish poetry, ‘The Northern Muse’ showcases Nobel Prize winner Seamus Heaney along with the first occupant of the Ireland Chair of Poetry John Montague.

The poets both share a history wrapped up in the Northern Ireland conflict and troubles, and found themselves to be contemporaries and kindred thinkers on such matters. Seamus Heaney reads ten poems, five selections are from "Death of a Naturalist" and five from "Door into the Dark".

John Montague reads eleven poems, his selections are from "Poisoned Lands", "A Chosen Light" and "Hymn to the New Omagh Road".

Both poets also provide a sleeve-note forward each. The authentic voice emanating from the poetry selected in this record and its importance cannot be understated.

Heaney and Montague were hugely influential in Ireland and worldwide so to be able to hear the cadence and intonation they provide their own poetry with is a treat."



1. Personal Helicon
2. The Diviner
3. The Barn
4. Follower
5. Requiem for the Croppies
6. The Wife’s Tale
7. Mother
8. Elegy for a Still-born Child
9. Bogland
10. A Lough Neagh Sequence
11. The Trout
12. The Water Carrier
13. Poisoned Lands
14. Old Mythologies
15. Clear the Way
16. Henhouse
17. The Cage
18. All Legendary Obstacles
19. Return
20. The Siege of Mullingar
21. Hymn to the New Omagh Road