This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Real to Reel
Garech Browne & Claddagh Records

Real to Reel : Garech Browne & Claddagh Records

By James Morrissey


What do Bono, Mick Jagger, Brendan Behan, Kofi Annan, Brian Jones, Sean Connery, Pierce Brosnan, Seamus Ennis, Picasso, Samuel Beckett, Anita Pallenberg and Lucian Freud have in common?  They were all friends of the founder of Ireland’s most iconic record label, Claddagh Records — Garech Browne. Heir to the Guinness fortune, Garech Browne set up Claddagh Records in a race to preserve Ireland’s musical and spoken word culture against the backdrop of the emerging Pop Culture scene coming into the country from the UK.

This hardcover book, 12” vinyl, & poster presented in a rigid slipcase chronicles the stories of both the world-renowned Claddagh Records record label and the extraordinary life of its founder Garech Browne. The 228-pp hardcover book is accompanied by Masters of Their Craft, The Claddagh Collection LP presenting 17 remastered tracks from Claddagh’s immensely rich catalogue, including a never-released-before poem from PULITZER PRIZE FOR POETRY and T.S ELIOT PRIZE-winning poet PAUL MULDOON.

REAL TO REEL is an extraordinary tale that weaves stories of rugged Connemara Sean-nós singers such as Vail O Flaherta and Rock and Roll icons such as Brain Jones into one captivating narrative.



Masters of their Craft : The Claddagh Collection Tracklist

Side A

  1. The Drunken Sailor – Tommy Potts
  2. ‘Round the House and Mind The Dresser – The Chieftains
  3. Luggala – John Montague
  4. Seven Yellow Gypsies – Dolores Keane
  5. Dick King – Thomas Kinsella
  6. Port na bPúcaí – Ronan Browne
  7. Digging – Seamus Heaney
  8. Sídh Beag agus Sídh Mór – Derek Bell


Side B

  1. Caoine Uí Dhomhnaill – Julia Clifford & Denis Murphy
  2. Lord Gregory – Dolly MacMahon
  3. An dá Thráigh – Máire Mhac an tSaoí
  4. The Fox Chase – Leo Rowsome
  5. Mount Parnassus – Austin Clarke
  6. Jenny Picking Cockles / My Love is in America – Willie Clancy
  7. Epic – Patrick Kavanagh
  8. The Rocky Road to Dublin – Seamus Ennis
  9. Dancers at the Moy – Paul Muldoon***


***Never released before, physical only track