This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Derek Bell
Plays with Himself




Claddagh Records


Irish Traditional


Claddagh Records are delighted to re-release one of the most celebrated traditional music albums of all-time back onto CD. This solo record from Derek Bell is a perfect example of the eccentricity and joy he brought to his playing.

Having joined with The Chieftains in 1975, by the time of this solo-record’s release in 1981 he was already a hugely renowned name worldwide and in the traditional Irish music community. Boasting on the booklet, ‘Derek Bell plays eight different instruments by himself’, from the piano and the harpsichord to the cimbalom, it is no wonder as to the talent of Derek Bell.

An airy yet often moving record, with a wink we invite you to listen and enjoy as ‘Derek Bell Plays With Himself’.


1. Minuet
2. Sonata in C Major
3. Rondeau Ecossais
4. Peruvian Dances
5. Tocata Burlesca
6. Mazurka
7. Notturno
8. Spanish Dance
9. Turkmenian Melody
10. Lotus Land
11. Three Bagatelles
12. Hungarian Folk Dances