This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text


Various Artists


To mark the 100 year anniversary of the Irish Free State, Claddagh Records release Rebel Irishwomen.

Originally released in 1966, the original 7inch vinyl brought listeners into the personal experiences, recollections and songs of three women who were particularly associated with the 1916 Rising. As Cathal Ó Seanáin wrote in the sleeve notes at the time, Helena Molony, Maud Gonne McBride and Kathleen Behan, were ‘among the militant nationalists’ who were passionate about Irish independence. The reissue reminds us of the significance of the 1966 commemoration and opens a window on the deeper impact of the role of women and the ways in which their role had been previously represented.

Spoken word recordings become more valuable and significant with the passing of time and this reissue creates an opportunity to hear first hand accounts from women whose voices are now silent. This reissue marks the passing of time as we draw to the close of the decade of centenaries as it offers an opportunity to hear the special contribution of personal histories from these brave women. In addition to celebrating the rebel women who were active in 1916 this new 2022 release also includes new interpretations of the music and songs heard in the original issue. These new versions illustrate how fresh and vibrant the songs remain in the twenty-first century in the hands of outstanding artists of the stature of Niamh Bury and the female vocal group ‘Landless’. Both the personal memories and the songs give us an opportunity to share in the feelings experienced by the rebel women caught in the midst of terror, death and drama of the 1916 Rising.



Side A

  1. The Story of The Easter Rising (Pt. 1) - Helena Molony
  2. The Story of The Easter Rising (Pt. 2) - Helena Molony
  3. Erin go Bragh - Kathleen Behan
  4. Law and order in Ireland - Maud Gonne MacBride
  5. Who Fears To Speak of Easter Week / Erin go Bragh / Labours Call (Medley) - Kathleen Behan

Side B

  1. Erin go Bragh - Niamh Bury

  2. Down by The Glenside - Niamh Bury

  3. Who Fears To Speak of Easter Week - Landless

  4. The Tri-Coloured Ribbon - Landless