This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text


The Chieftains
The Chieftains 2




Claddagh Records


Irish Traditional


Chieftains 2 is the second album released by the Irish musical group The Chieftains in 1969. It was Peadar Mercier's album debut on bodhran.

When Seán Ó Riada disbanded Ceoltoiri Chualann in 1969, several of the players wanted to continue the sound they had pioneered. The result was the reformation of The Chieftains. "The Foxhunt" had previously been known as a piper's tune, but here it was given a full band treatment, and was widely played, as a direct result of this recording.


1. Banish Misfortune / Gillian's Apples (Double Jigs)
2. Planxty George Brabazon
3. Bean an Fhir Rua (Slow Air)
4. An Phis Fhliuch / O'Farrell's Welcome to Limerick (Slip Jig)
5. An Paistin Fionn / Mrs. Crotty's Reel / The Mountain Top (Reels)
6. The Foxhunt
7. An Mhaighdean Mhara (Slow Air); Tie The Bonnet; O'Rourke's (Reels)
8. Callaghan's; Byrne's (Hornpipes)
9. Pigtown; Tie The Ribbons; The Bag Of Potatoes (Reels)
10. The Humors Of Whiskey; Hardiman The Fiddler (Slip Jigs)
11. Dónall Óg (Slow Air)
12. Brian Boru's March
13. Sweeney's; Denis Murphy's; The Scartaglen Polka (Polkas)