This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text


Andrew Hill
Passing Ships

Andrew Hill is one of the most distinctive pianists and composing talents in jazz, yet this profoundly moving session recorded in 1969 sat unreleased until 2003 when it was finally issued on CD through the efforts of Blue Note archivist Michael Cuscuna. Hill penned all seven of 'Passing Ships'' compositions for an ensemble featuring Woody Shaw and Dizzy Reece on trumpet, Julian Priester on trombone, Joe Farrell on saxes, flute and bass clarinet, Howard Johnson on tuba, Bob Northern on French horn, Ron Carter on bass, and Lenny White on drums.

Track Listing:
1. Sideways - Andrew Hill
2. Passing Ships - Andrew Hill
3. Plantation Bag - Andrew Hill
4. Noon Tide - Andrew Hill
5. The Brown Queen - Andrew Hill
1. Cascade - Andrew Hill
2. Yesterday's Tomorrow - Andrew Hill

Year of Production: 1969