This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text


Beckett Bundle

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the publication of Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett, author, playwright and winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, Claddagh Records is delighted to release a special gift pack featuring two seminal projects on the work of Beckett.

We invited Barry McGovern, a friend of Beckett for many years to pen his professional and personal recollections of the writer. It is an intimate insight of one the greatest interpreters of the works of Samuel Beckett.
This gift pack includes : Barry McGovern - Samuel Beckett : Three Novels, Jack MacGowran - MacGowran Speaking Beckett and a personal letter from the incredible Barry McGovern on his recollections of the writer

Barry McGovern : Samuel Beckett : Three Novels

This CD box set marks the centenary of Samuel Beckett's birth, and contains 18 hours of the Irish Nobel Laureate's three finest novels-Molloy, Malone Dies, and The Unnamable - read by well-known Irish actor Barry McGovern. The set includes a 58 page illustrated booklet on the writer's life and work by Beckett scholar Gerry Dukes.

Actor Barry McGovern, producer Tim Lehane and sound engineer Mark Duff spent over eight months together in studio recording this collaborative work for RTÉ Radio, supported by the Lannan Foundation.


Jack MacGowran : MacGowran Speaking Beckett

Poet, novelist, playwright Beckett was born in Dublin in 1908 but spent a considerable part of his life in France, where he died in 1989.

MacGowran was born in 1918 and after moving to London established himself firmly as a stage actor, playing everything from contemporary comedy to Shakespeare. He also became the foremost interpreter of the works of Beckett.

The sessions were personally supervised by Beckett, who also bangs a gong at pertinent intervals while his two sons, John and Edward, play harmonium and flute. It is an atmospheric, warm and historic recording,


1. From Malone Dies
2. From Watt
3. From an Abandoned Work
4. From Embers
5. From Molloy (1)
6. From Molloy (2)
7. From Endgame (1)
8. From Endgame (2)
9. From The Unnamable
10. Echo’s Bones