This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Christy Moore
The Iron Behind The Velvet (Remastered)






Irish Folk


The Iron Behind the Velvet' is an album recorded by Christy Moore in 1978, after the first breakup of Planxty. It was produced jointly by Brian Masterson and Moore, and recorded and mixed at Lombard and Keystone Studios, Dublin. It features Christy's brother Barry Moore (Luka Bloom) on guitar & vocals, as well as Planxty's Andy Irvine on mandolin, bouzouki, vocals and more. Also appearing are Noel Hill on concertinas, Tony Linnane on fiddle, Gabriel McKeon on Uilleann pipes, Jimmy Faulkner on guitars and Rosemary Flanagan on cello.


1. Patrick Was a Gentleman 
2. The Sun Is Burning 
3. Morrissey and the Russian Sailor 
4. The Foxy Devil 
5. Three Reels: The Newly Mowed Meadow/Farrell O'Gara's Reel/No Name Reel 
6. Trip to Jerusalem 
7. Three Reels: Tommy Coen's/The Youngest Daughter/Flax in Bloom 
8. Patrick's Arrival 
9. Gabriel McKeon's 
10. Dunlavin Green 
11. Joe McCann 
12. John O'dreams