This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text


McCoy Tyner
Expansions (Blue Note, 1968) (Tone Poet Series)

Pianist McCoy Tyner was an acknowledged force of nature. On the aptly-named 'Expansions', Tyner fronts a remarkable band consisting of Woody Shaw on trumpet, Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Gary Bartz on alto saxophone, Ron Carter on cello, Herbie Lewis on bass, and Freddie Waits on drums. Stand-out tracks in a program of four Tyner originals and one standard include the timeless masterpiece 'Peresina' and the immersive opening track 'Vision'.

Track Listing:
1. Vision - McCoy Tyner (12.19)
2. Song of Happiness - McCoy Tyner (11.59)
3. Smitty's Place - McCoy Tyner (5.22)
4. Peresina - McCoy Tyner (10.22)
5. I Thought I'd Let You Know - McCoy Tyner (6.26)

Year of Production: 1969