This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Christy Moore
Ride On


Ride On' is an album by Irish folk singer Christy Moore, originally released in 1984. Its title track remains one of his most popular songs. A number of songs relate the actions of those involved in political struggles, or those affected by those struggles; such as 'Viva la Quinte Brigada' which is concerned with the Irish contingent amongst the International Brigade in the Spanish Civil War; or 'El Salvador' dealing with the civil war in that country in the 1980s. Other songs deal with Irish history - 'The City of Chicago', about emigration to America during the Irish famines of the late 1840s; 'Back Home in Derry' written by Bobby Sands about the transportation to Australia of convicts; and 'Lisdoonvarna' celebrating a music festival that took place annually in that town until the early 1980s. Since Ride On is widely accepted as a landmark Moore album, it has been available ever since its original release and is regarded as one of the best possible introductions to the artist. The title track was written by one of Ireland's most famous songwriters, Jimmy MacCarthy, and many other artists have interpreted the song. Available for RSD 2022 on white vinyl.


1. The City of Chicago - Christy Moore
2. Ride On - Christy Moore
3. Vive La Quinte Brigada - Christy Moore
4. Song of Wandering Aongus - Christy Moore
5. McIhatton - Christy Moore
6. Lisdoonvarna - Christy Moore
7. Among the Wicklow Hills - Christy Moore
8. Sonny's Dream - Christy Moore
9. The Dying Soldier - Christy Moore
10. El Salvador - Christy Moore
11. Back Home in Derry - Christy Moore
12. The Least We Can Do - Christy Moore

Year of Production: 1984