This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Rhiannon Giddens
there is no Other (with Francesco Turrisi)


Tracing the overlooked movement of sounds from Africa and the Arabic world and their influence on European and American music, 'There Is No Other' illuminates the universality of music and the commonality of the human experience. It primarily features only Giddens and Turrisi playing one or two instruments together. The album comprises a mix of original songs penned by Giddens and a diverse set of interpretations ranging from Ola Belle Reed's 'I'm Gonna Write Me a Letter', and Oscar Brown, Jr's 'Brown Baby', the Italian traditional 'Pizzica di San Vito' to the aria 'Black Swan' by Gian-Carlo Menotti.


1. Ten Thousand Voices - Rhiannon Giddens
2. Gonna Write Me a Letter - Rhiannon Giddens
3. Wayfaring Stranger - Rhiannon Giddens
4. There Is No Other - Rhiannon Giddens
5. Trees On the Mountains - Rhiannon Giddens
6. Pizzica Di San Vito - Rhiannon Giddens
7. Brown Baby - Rhiannon Giddens
8. Briggs' Forró - Rhiannon Giddens
9. Little Margaret - Rhiannon Giddens
10. Black Swan - Rhiannon Giddens
11. I'm On My Way - Rhiannon Giddens
12. He Will See You Through - Rhiannon Giddens

Year of Production: 2019